/Ai/Ais-Richtersveld Transfrontier Park

/Ai /Ais-Richtersveld Transfrontier Park: Joint Management Board appointed

Following the signing by the Presidents of Namibia and South Africa of the international treaty that established the /Ai /Ais-Richtersveld Transfrontier Park (ARTP) on 1 August 2003, Ministers Philemon Malima of Namibia and Valli Moosa of South Africa on Saturday, 28 February 2004 appointed the ARTP Joint Management Board.

At the same meeting, which was held in Sendelingsdrift on the banks of the Orange River, it was decided that South Africa would be the coordinating country for the first two years.

The JMB was tasked with a number of issues, notably to finalise the drafting of tourism and management plans and present them at the next ministerial meeting.

The formal meeting was followed by a cultural event that was attended by some 600 members of the Richtersveld communities who own the Richtersveld National Park, which is jointly managed with South African National Parks (SANParks).

Community members expressed their eagerness to see the transfrontier park succeed, as they would all benefit from increased tourism to the area, while at the same time conserving its unique biodiversity. This would also help maintain the cultural heritage and traditional lifestyle of the Nama people.


New Honorary Patron: President Jose dos Santos


Big skies and distant horizons lure travellers

Privacy Policy     Terms of Use     Cookie Policy     Reg no: 1997/004896/08     NPO: 005-294     PBO: 130003729