SA College for Tourism

Another hugely successful year!

The SA College for Tourism Graduation Ceremony

The SA College for Tourism held their annual graduation ceremony on Friday 19 November in Graaff Reinet, hosted by its Chairperson, Mrs Gaynor Rupert. This year 86 young unemployed women were empowered by the College completing an externally moderated Certificate in Small Accommodation Establishment Operations as well as four national skills development certificates in hospitality services issued by The South African Tourism, Hospitality & Sport Education and Training Authority. Certificates in respects of the Certificate course were awarded by the Central University of Technology, School of Tourism, Hospitality & Sport, the training partner and external moderator of the College.

The keynote address of the day was delivered by Ms Thandiwe Sylvia January-Mclean, South Africa’s previous Ambassador to Portugal.
Ms January-Mclean currently holds the position of Chief Executive Officer for South African Tourism.
Ms January-Mclean handed the certificates to the graduates, welcoming them to the tourism industry family of Southern Africa, the fastest growing industry on the sub-continent.

The graduation ceremony was also attended by Mr Sershan Naidoo, representing the South African Lottery Board, which through their National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund last year became the single largest contributor to SA College for Tourism.

The Announcement for the Top Student of the year and runner up was made by Mrs Erna Meaker, a long-time friend of the College. She was joined by Mrs Barbara Pudel of Geneva, Switzerland, who annually sponsors a three month work experience visit of the two top students to her guest house in Portofino, Italy.

Ms Beatrice Mwale of Malawi, Chairperson of the 2010 Learner Committee delivered a speech, paying tribute to everyone involved in making their journey possible.

The top student, Ms Esmary Chizengeni from Zimbabwe, Mrs Barbara Pudel from Switzerland, Mrs Gaynor Rupert, Chairperson of the College and Ms Tabudzai Mpukuta of Zimbabwe, the runner-up

The ceremony was closed by Mr Firoz Ladak of The Edmond de Rothschild Foundations, a very generous supporter of the College. Mr Ladak in conveying the good wishes of the Baron Benjamin and the Baroness Ariane de Rothschild to the graduates told them that the Foundations were proud to be a sponsor the College and to share in the success of its students.
Graduation day, the highlight of the training year for the College, was preceded the evening before by a pre-graduation dinner where the young women of the Class of 2010 showed off their newly acquired skills serving a five course dinner they prepared themselves to 70 VIP guests of the College, representing the donor community of the College, other sponsors and friends.


Wildlife College salutes its 2010 graduands


Mandela award site in World Heritage conservation row

Privacy Policy     Terms of Use     Cookie Policy     Reg no: 1997/004896/08     NPO: 005-294     PBO: 130003729