Peace Parks Foundation Structure
Peace Parks Foundation is a non-profit organisation. The foundation has virtually all the powers of a normal company, but cannot have shareholders, and no profits can be paid to supporting members or directors.

Registration number: 1997/004896/08

Non-profit organisation number: 005-294 NPO

Public benefit organisation number: 130003729

In order to optimise the foundation’s fundraising potential, structures that allow donations to be made in a tax-efficient manner have been created in Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, the USA and the UK. Visit this page for more details.

The structure directing the Foundation's work is as follows:


  • HRH Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands † 1 December 2004
  • Nelson Mandela † 5 December 2013
  • Dr Anton Rupert † 18 January 2006


© Michael Viljoen
© Michael Viljoen
  • President José Eduardo dos Santos (Angola)
  • President Hage Geingob (Namibia)
  • President Lt Gen. Seretse KI Khama (Botswana)
  • His Majesty King Letsie III (Lesotho)
  • His Majesty King Mswati III (Swaziland)
  • President Robert Mugabe (Zimbabwe)
  • President Peter Mutharika (Malawi)
  • President Filipe Nyusi (Mozambique)
  • President Jacob Zuma (South Africa)


© Michael Viljoen
© Michael Viljoen
  • Mr JP Rupert (Chairman)
  • Mr JA Chissano (Vice-Chairman)
  • Mr W Myburgh (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Mr TA Boardman
  • Mr NN de Villiers (member only)
  • Mr A Hoffmann (Switzerland)
  • Prof. A Leiman
  • Drs JHW Loudon (The Netherlands)
  • Mr M Msimang
  • Mr HL Pohamba (Namibia)
  • Dr FE Raimondo
  • Ms CC Rupert
  • Mr DF Strietman (The Netherlands)
  • Mr P van der Poel
  • Mr JJM van Zyl
  • Mr H Wessels
  • Senior Chief Inyambo Yeta (Zambia)


© Michael Viljoen
© Michael Viljoen
  • Mr JP Rupert (Chairman)
  • Mr W Myburgh (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Mr TA Boardman
  • Drs JHW Loudon (The Netherlands)
  • Ms CC Rupert 
  • Mr DF Strietman (The Netherlands)
  • Mr P van der Poel
  • Mr JJM van Zyl
  • Mr H Wessels


© Michael Viljoen
© Michael Viljoen
  • Mr H Wessels (Chairman)
  • Prof. A Leiman 
  • Mr W Myburgh 
  • Mr P van der Poel 


  • Mr JJM van Zyl (Chairman)
  • Mr H Wessels
  • Ms CC Rupert


© Michael Viljoen
© Michael Viljoen
  • Mr Werner Myburgh (Chairman)
  • Mr Antony Alexander 
  • Mr Craig Beech
  • Ms Kathy Bergs
  • Ms Loraine Bewsher
  • Mr Paul Bewsher
  • Mr Richard Davies
  • Ms Irma Engelbrecht 
  • Ms Dyan Lee
  • Ms Lize-Mari Lynch
  • Mr Sedia Modise
  • Mr Brad Poole 
  • Mr Piet Theron
  • Mr Arrie van Wyk


© Michael Viljoen
© Michael Viljoen
Chairman: Mr Johann Rupert
  • Absa Bank
  • HRH Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands †1 December 2004
  • Cartier
  • Chrysler Corporation Fund
  • Mrs HCM Coetzee †8 March 2016
  • COmON Foundation
  • Daimler
  • De Beers
  • Deutsche Bank
  • Dutch Postcode Lottery
  • The Edmond de Rothschild Foundations
  • Esri
  • Exxaro
  • Mr Paul Fentener van Vlissingen †21 August 2006
  • Donald Gordon Foundation
  • Fondation Hoffmann
  • Dr HL Hoffmann † 21 July 2016
  • Mr Neville and Mrs Pamela Isdell
  • Mava Fondation pour la Nature
  • Philips
  • Reinet Foundation
  • Remgro
  • Richemont
  • Rupert Family Foundations
  • Ms Pierrette Schlettwein
  • Swedish Postcode Foundation
  • Swedish Postcode Lottery
  • The Rufford Foundation
  • Turner Foundation
  • Total
  • Vodafone Group Foundation
  • WWF Netherlands


© Michael Viljoen
© Michael Viljoen
To assist with technical advice in the transfrontier conservation process and to provide a forum for discussion of cross-border challenges, the Foundation constituted an advisory committee and invited representatives from the wildlife authorities of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) member states to serve in an ex officio capacity on this body. The members of the advisory committee are:
  • Mr Edson Chidziya: Director-General, National Parks and Wildlife Management Authority, Zimbabwe
  • Mr Stanley Damane: Director, Ministry of Tourism, Environment and Culture, Lesotho
  • Mr Abias Huongo: Director-General, Institute of Biodiversity and Conservation Areas, Angola 
  • Mr Kester Kaphaizi: Principal Secretary,Ministry of Natural Resources, Energy and Mining, Malawi
  • Mr Brighton Kumchedwa: Director, National Parks and Wildlife, Malawi
  • Mr Elias Magosi: Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources, Conservation and Tourism, Botswana
  • Ms Skumsa Mancotywa, Chief Director: Biodiversity and Conservation, Department of Environmental Affairs, South Africa
  • Dr Themba Mhlongo: Deputy Executive Secretary, Regional Integration, SADC Secretariat
  • Mr Fundisile Mketeni: Chief Executive Officer, South African National Parks, South Africa
  • Mr Stephen Mwansa: Principal Secretary, Ministry of Tourism and Arts, Zambia
  • Dr Miguel Ndawanapo: Principal Secretary, Ministry of Hotels and Tourism, Angola 
  • Mr Lefeu Ramone: Principal Secretary, Ministry of Tourism, Environment & Culture, Lesotho
  • Mr Colgar Sikopo: Director, Directorate of Regional Services and Parks Management, Namibia
  • Dr Bartolomeu Soto: Director-General, National Agency for Conservation Areas, Mozambique